Older In The Hand & Younger On The Tongue

9 Aug

I was at Mass This Morning. When it came time for Holy Communion, I noticed that the Elderly people were receiving Holy Communion in the hand, while Younger People, especially Ethnics, were receiving on the tongue.
Okay, it was 37 Years Ago in June, 1977, through the Sleight of Hand of the Now Deceased Archbishop Joseph Bernadin, then Archbishop of Cincinnati, OH and President of the US Conference of Catholic Bishops, they of only the Roman Rite, who spend their time contributing to the Problem called Global Warming,
For many of The Present Elderly people, they were in their 30s and 40s when the Indult allowing for Holy Communion, was passed. I was 22 in 1977.
But, it took awhile for me to catch onto this. I did not see this in my old Brooklyn Parish. We were still kneeling for Holy Communion in 1982 and still receiving on the tongue.
Okay, I did “Follow the Crowd” and received in the hand, but went back to the tongue in 1996.
Hey,I am NOT a Priest.

M

Leave a Reply

