First Thursday At Holy Innocents 6PM Latin Mass

4 Oct

I was at Last Night’s Missa Cantata(A Sung Tridentine Latin Mass)@ Holy Innocents R C Church on W37th Street in Manhattan. It was the Feast of The Holy Angels, which means Guardian Angels.

But at Holy Innocents, it was also 1st Thursday, which is a night dedicated to Prayers for The Priesthood. And Father spoke of Priests and Angels. The Priest is cloaked in Holy Orders and has the Divinely Given Authority to forgive Sins in Christ’s Name, as well as to offer the Holy Sacrifice of The Mass. Angels cannot forgive Sins, but Priests can, In Persona Christi, as Alter Christus. Hence, as Father put it so elegantly, Priests are Higher than Angels, though Human.

Perhaps, I hope that during one of His Holiness’ Off The Cuff Comments, when he said that men are higher than Angels, that Pope Francis I means Priests. The Pope in these Off The Cuff Comments, could be teaching error instead of Truth.

It reminds me of the time when I was 11, I was listening to All News WINS 1010 in Brooklyn. I know about W. E. B. Du Bois(Pronounced Do Bwah), but the WINS Reporter, I believe he was Stan Brooks(+), had pronounced the name as “Do Boys”, was reporting on a Political Club called The W. E. B. Du Bois Club in Harlem, which had affiliated with the Communist Party USA. I blurted out to my parents that “The Boys Club joined the Communist Party.” It was my “Bergoglian Moment.” And all this because the name of W. E. B. Du Bois, was spoken in what amounted to a mispronounced name on a News Broadcast, with me listening and jumping to conclusions.

You can’t make this stuff up.

Kyrie Elaison!

M

Leave a Reply

